Procrastination.

wordpress

Procrastinators of the World, Unite! Tomorrow.

I am a master procrastinator. I will wait until the very last day to pay a bill, my library books are always overdue, and I wait until 11:30 at night to get on the treadmill so I can lie in bed, super energized for three hours while I stare at the ceiling. In a lifelong effort to fix this, I’ve read article after article about the causes of chronic procrastination on psychology weblogs which have cited everything from perfectionism to fear of failure as the root cause of this problem. The most comical article stated that people often choose to goof off instead of doing work because work is less pleasant than goofing off. Thanks, what an epiphany. Ironically, reading these articles just served as another giant suckage of time I could indulge in while putting off other, more important things.

I think I might just be lazy.

I flirted with the idea of writing a blog several years ago, a goal that ended up hanging out on the bottom of my bucket list. I thought the process would be cathartic, and it probably would have been if I had ever written anything. Skip to New Year’s Day of this year. “I should start my blog.” I told myself. “I’ll do it tomorrow.” Tomorrow turned into the end of February, then the end of March.

Today, I’m finally getting around to my new year’s resolution. On April 7th. I wrote something and set out to start my blog. I chose WordPress because it was free and seemed to be relatively popular. I researched the basics. I couldn’t come up with a theme but hell, my life really doesn’t have a theme so I shrugged and went to sign up anyway. I entered my e-mail address.

Turns out I already had an account here. From 2011. With nothing on it but this auto-generated “Hello World” post from 6 years ago.

Now, that’s some impressive procrastination. I’m almost proud of myself.

About lyssalouhoo

Me doing stuff. Sometimes I travel, sometimes I cook, sometimes I write. I have a dog and a cat. I enjoy my own company. That's about it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Procrastination.

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

